A Comprehensive List of 1L Summer Associate Programs (2021 Edition)

Here are a list of 1L summer associate positions for diverse candidates. Usually, 1L summer associate spots at Big Law firms are reserved for diverse candidates. If you are not a diverse candidate, you should still email the recruiters at the Big Law firms on this list to express your interest in their summer program.

These are all paid positions, but note that some pay more than others. In addition, not all of these firms are Big Law. If you’re looking for a Big Law Cravath pay scale as a summer associate, you most likely need to be in the Texas, New York, DC, Illinois (Chicago) or California legal market. Some Mid Law firms also offer a similar salary.

Regardless, your focus is to get a job for the summer. Any sort of paid position for 1Ls will be extremely difficult to come by so take what you can get. Also, don’t waste your time applying to a city or firm where you do not want to work in the future. Firms care about strong geographic ties.

The firms highlighted in red are globally known as “Big Law.” The rest are Mid Law firms or smaller, local firms. You can click on each firm name for details about applying.

New firm added as of 1/18/21: Gunderson Dettmer

Firm NameFirm ContactProgram Location(s)App Deadline
Armstrong Teasdale LLPMolly Duvall(mduvall@atllp.com)St. Louis, MO1/29/21
Baker Botts LLP / AT&T (split summer)Alison Ketabchi (alison.ketabchi@bakerbotts.com)Austin, TX, Dallas, TX, Houston, TX, New York, NY, Palo Alto, CA, San Francisco, CA, Washington, DC2/1/21
Baker DonelsonHelen Beasley (hbeasley@bakerdonelson.com)Atlanta, GA, Baltimore, MD, Baton Rouge, LA, Birmingham, AL, Houston, TX, Jackson, MS, Knoxville, TN, Memphis, TN, Nashville, TV, New Orleans, LA1/29/21
Baker & Hostetler LLPMonique Mahler (mmahler@bakerlaw.com)Dallas, TX1/15/21
Barnes & Thornburg LLPKim Finney (kim.finney@btlaw.com)Chicago, IL, Indianapolis, IN, South Bend/Elkhart, INn/a (i.e., ASAP)
Barrasso Usdin Kupperman Freeman & Sarver LLCRachel Kiedrowski (careers@barrassousdin.com)New Orleans, LAn/a (i.e., ASAP)
Bass, Berry & Sims PLCKelly Bahiraei (kelly.bahiraei@bassberry.com)Nashville, TN2/19/21
Beveridge & Diamond PCLindy Resh (summerprogram@bdlaw.com)Austin, TX, Baltimore, MD, Boston, MA, New York, NY, San Francisco, CA, Seattle, WA, Washington, DC1/15/21
Bondurant Mixson & Elmore LLPJodie Richey (richey@bmelaw.com)Atlanta, GA1/15/21
Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLPJessica Richards (jrichards@bradley.com)Birmingham, AL, Charlotte, NC, Dallas, TX, Houston, TX, Huntsville, AL, Jackson, MS, Montgomery, AL, Nashville, TN, Tampa, FLn/a (i.e., ASAP)
Butler Snow LLPBrooke Owen (brooke.owen@butlersnow.com)Austin, TX, Birmingham, AL, Charleston, SC, Jackson, MS, Memphis, TN, Nashville, TNn/a (i.e., ASAP)
Clark Hill PLCLaura Lau (llau@clark-hill.com)Los Angeles, CA2/1/21
Covington & Burling LLPCalifornia: Kelsey Donovan (legalrecruitingca@cov.com)New York: Marilyn Palacios (legal.recruitingny@cov.com)DC: DeAnna Bumstead-Yeary (legal.recruiting@cov.comLos Angeles, CA, New York, NY, San Francisco, CA, Washington, DC1/15/21
Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLPEmily Sanchez (csmrecruit@cravath.comNew York, NY3/1/21
Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP / Comcast NBC Universal (split summer)Natalie de Pasquale (natalie.depasquale@davispolk.com)New York, NY and Philadelphia PAASAP (only 2 spots)
Dechert LLPlegal.recruiting@dechert.comNew York, NY, Charlotte NC2/1/21
DentonsMary Boxer (mary.boxer@dentons.comAtlanta, GA, Chicago IL, Indianapolis, IN, Louisville, KY, Pittsburgh, PAn/a (i.e., ASAP)
Dorsey & Whitney LLP Kirsten Otto (otto.kirsten@dorsey.com)Minneapolis, MN, Salt Lake City, UT and Seattle, WA 1/18/21
Fish & Richardson Whitney Smallwood (smallwood@fr.comAtlanta, GA, Austin, TX, Boston, MA, Dallas, TX, Delaware, Houston, TX, New York, NY, San Diego, CA, Silicon Valley, Twin Cities, Washington, DC12/30/21
Fisher & Phillips LLPMarleen Matal (mmatal@fisherphillips.comAtlanta, GA, Los Angeles, CA and Philadelphia, PAApply after 1/1/21 and by 2/5/21
Foley & Lardner LLPAmy Moynihan (amoynihan@foley.comSee heren/a (i.e., ASAP)
Fredrikson & Byron PANancy Howard (nhoward@fredlaw.comMinneapolis, MN1/20/21
Frost Brown Todd LLPBarbara Savage (bsavage@fbtlaw.comCincinnati, OH, Houston, TX, Indianapolis, IN, Louisville, KY1/15/21
Greenberg Traurig LLPKathleen Cline (clinek@gtlaw.com)Chicago, IL
Boston, MA
n/a (i.e., ASAP)
Gunderson DettmerNew York, NY
San Francisco, CA
Boston, MA
1/22/21
Hanson Bridgett LLPChristine Wang (cwang@hansonbridgett.comSan Francisco, CA1/22/21
Jackson Walker LLPShannon Peters (speters@jw.comAustin, Dallas, Houston, San Antonio, TX n/a (i.e., ASAP)
K&L Gates LLPSee hereBoston, MA, Charleston, SC, Charlotte, NC, Portland, OR, Raleigh, NC, Seattle, WA, Washington, DC1/31/21
Kasowitz Benson TorresBrigid Riordan (briordan@kasowitz.com) New York, NY1/31/21
Katten Muchin Roseman LLPStephanie LondonChicago, IL, Dallas, TX, Los Angeles, CA, New York, NY, Washington, DCn/a (i.e., ASAP)
Kean Miller LLPDanielle LeBlanc (danielle.leblanc@keanmiller.comBaton Rouge, LA12/22/21
Lewis Rice LLCJennifer Beevers (jbeevers@lewisrice.com) St. Louis, MO1/15/21
Linklaters LLPAlexandra Gharghoury (alexandra.gharghoury@linklaters.comNew York, NY1/11/21
Littler MendelsonHannah EngelkeLos Angeles, CA, New York, NY, Phoenix, AZ, Portland, ORn/a (i.e., ASAP)
Locke Lorde LLPBoston: Kathleen Crabtree (kathleen.crabtree@lockelord.com
Dallas: Ashley Hightower (Ashley.Hightower@lockelord.com
Boston, MA, Dallas, TX1/15/21
Lowenstein Sandler LLPMona Patel (mpatel@lowenstein.comRoseland, NJ1/29/21
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLPJennifer Carrion (jennifer.carrion@morganlewis.comBoston, MA, Houston, TX, Los Angeles, CA, New York, NY, Philadelphia, PA, San Francisco, CA, Washington, DC 1/31/21
Morrison & Foerster LLPAyanna Ryans-Holder (aryansholder@mofo.comNew York, NY1/29/21
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLPdiversity@mto.com Los Angeles, CA, San Francisco, CA2/14/21
Norton Rose Fullbright US LLPAustin & San Antonio: Alice Bolander (alice.bolander@nortonrosefulbright.com)
Dallas: Meredith Bond (meredith.bond@nortonrosefulbright.com)
Houston: Taylor Magids (Taylor.magids@nortonrosefulbright.com)
New York: Rachel Bracken (rachel.bracken@nortonrosefulbright.com)
DC: Uroosa Haider (uroosa.haider@nortonrosefulbright.com
Austin, Dallas, Houston, San Antonio, TX, New York, NY and Washington, DC1/31/21
Osborn MaledonJessica Lopez (recruiting@omlaw.comArizon, AZ2/8/21
Porter HedgesDeidra Clement (dclement@porterhedges.comHouston, TX1/31/21
Reed Smith LLPChicago: Suzy Madrigal (amadrigal@reedsmith.com)
Houston: Veronica Erickson (verickson@reedsmith.com)
Miami: Christine Meade (cmeade@reedsmith.com
Philadelphia, Tysons, and DC: Tiffany McClendon (Tmcclendon@reedsmith.com)
Pittsburg: Katie Sikon (ksikon@reedsmith.com)
San Francisco: Jessica Sisco (jsisco@reedsmith.com
Chicago, IL, Houston, TX, Miami, FL, Philadelphia and Pittsburgh, PA, San Francisco, CA, Tysons and Washington, DC1/15/21
Shearman & SterlingKim Karp (kim.karp@shearman.comNew York, NY1/15/21
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLPSee hereGlobal
See here
unannnounced
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLPNew York: Claire Shutt 
Texas: Jessica Evans 
Houston, TXNew York, NY2/1/21
Steptoe & Johnson PLLCHeather Cavanagh (heather.cavanagh@steptoe-johnson.com)  Columbus, OH2/1/21
Stroock & Stroock & Lavan LLPSabina Braciak (sbraciak@stroock.comNew York, NY1/15/21
Thompson & Knight LLPMaggie Moran (maggie.moran@tklaw.comDallas, TX, Houston, TX2/1/21
Troutman Pepper LLPJasmine McCall (jasmine.mccall@troutman.comAtlanta, GA, Boston, MA, Chicago, IL, Los Angeles, CA, New York, NY, Orange Cty, CA, Princeton, Richmond, VA, San Diego, CA, San Francisco, CA2/1/21
Venable LLPMD: Maria Krupinsky
NY: Jennifer Handley
LA: Kara Barnachea
SF: Alice Kirsten
DC: Victoria Sievers
Baltimore, MDNew York, NYLos Angeles, CASan Francisco, CAWashington, DCn/a (i.e., ASAP)
Wachtell Lipton Rosen & Katz LLP (send resume, transcript, and cover letter + practice area of interest)recruiting@wlrk.comNew York, NYunknown
Waller Lansden Dortch & Davis LLPMichelle Parsons (michelle.parsons@wallerlaw.comAustin, TXBirmingham, ALNashville, TNn/a (i.e., ASAP)
Wheeler Trigg O’Donell LLPChloe Mercado (mercado@wtotrial.comDenver, CO3/26/21
Wiley Rein LLPJanell Mallard (recruiting@wiley.law) Washington, DC1/15/21
Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLPIL & TX: Tiffany Piccirilli (tpiccirilli@willkie.com
CA & NY: Sadie Polillio (spolillio@willkie.com
DC: Jeanine Thomas (jthomas@willkie.com
Chicago, IL, Houston, TX, New York, NY, Palo Alto, CA, San Francisco, CA, Washington, DC1/31/21
Winston & Strawn LLPSylvia James (syjames@winston.comSee here2/1/21